can1043
5 posts
TimePosted 26/12/2013 23:14:46
can1043 says

Carbon capture from a cement plant

Dear all,

I am a PhD student and have been working on CO2 capture from cement plants. I need your comments and suggestions for a process available in the literature. The title of reference study is "Analysis of a Process for Capturing the CO2 resulting from the Precalcination of Limestone in a Cement Plant". In this process, in a place of pre-calciner, two reactors are occupied, which are calciner and external combustor. The calciner operates at 930 C and that is for the combustor is 1050 C. The system use circulating fluidized bed, and the solids from the combustor is circulated back to the calciner to satisfy heat requirement. Therefore, the CO2 from calcination of limestone can be captured in pure form. In summary, it separates combustion and calcination reactions into two different chambers. Since it is a conceptual design, process integration of this idea has not been proposed yet. First of all, I would like to ask your opinion for the idea, what do you think? What are the challenges for this process? I have been working on the process integration of this design into a cement plant. In the reference paper, only CaO is circulated between the reactors but in real cement process, the raw material contains limestone, clay and quartz. To prevent circulation of clay between the reactors, I thought that there would be a possibility of separate limestone from the other raw materials and use of a twin preheater. The limestone and clay minerals will be heated up in two different preheaters and only CaO will be circulated. They will be then mixed after the calciner. At this point, I am not sure how this change in cement plant affects the cement chemistry. I know that partial belite formation at the last stage of preheater and in the precalciner but I do not know what would happen actually.