Stefan Lavelle
1 posts
TimePosted 24/08/2020 20:25:03

Tracking cement plant utilisation using satellite imagery - technical questions

Hi all,

I'm a London based data scientist working on tracking cement plant activity globally as part of an international collaboration to track emissions from various point sources. https://time.com/5866881/al-gore-climate-trace-emissions/

At the moment I'm combining production indices, capacity data and satellite imagery to train my models. Given my limited understanding of the domain I could do with some help on technical questions.

Thus far I've labelled kilns (in cases where they aren't concealed by roofs) and tracked their activity over time using short wave infrared images from sentinel-2. Roughly speaking the idea is that more heat=stronger signature=greater output. Is this a naive assumption? The reason I ask is that my results so far don't match with production indices. In the US, for example, I get an uptick in activity in December despite production ostensibly ramping down during this period. This could be due to a processing error on my part but I'm wondering if there's a theoretical explanation?